Teachers' salaries should be based on the academic performance of their students.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take.

In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Education is one of the important pillar for the growth of humanity. Students, teachers and institutions form the crux of this. Teachers' are meant to impart knowledge to students and are the vital cog of this system. However, there has been a heated debate over the their remuneration. The prompt says that teachers' salaries should be impacted by students' performance. In my opinion, I disagree with it due to the following three reasons.

To begin with, not all students are same and some may end up not progressing to the next year inspite of teachers' added efforts. To illustrate, consider a professor of an elite college who has years of experience. A bunch of students, who are admitted may not be up to the standards of the professor. The professor may put additional efforts and take extra classes to make sure the students are well prepared. But, the students get involved in illicit activities, not concentrating on studies and end up failing in the subject. In this scenario, even though the professor gave his best to help the students, the students would be responsible for not getting promoted. The above example illustrates, how student performance cannot be the sole criteria to consider a teacher's salary.

Further, a teacher is involved in multiple activities apart from teaching. They are involved in research and development, working with industry experts to improve the current technology, giving back to the society by performing volunteering work, etc. Professors and teachers contribute immense amount of their time in preparing the next generation tools. For example, a professor working in a leading university has teamed up with leading technology experts to develop 5G. The outcome of which would help enable data transfer at a mind boggling rate. However, the professor may not concentrate much on teaching students, rather just cover minimum requirements to make sure he contributes to the development of 5G. In this scenario, though the professor is working to make the world better and bring laurels to his university, his minor contribution towards students' academics may result in him getting less dues than he deserves.

To add further, one might argue that if a student doesn't perform well, then the primary person to be questioned will be the teacher. It's his fundamental duty to make sure that the student is well equipped to cross the hurdle. However, one can't attribute the teachers as the sole person responsible for the students' failure. There are multiple factors, such as the students' family, his friend circle, his interest in doing the studies, etc. All these contribute towards a students' success or failure, not just a teacher.

To conclude, a student performing academically well definitely shows the caliber of both student and teacher. If a teacher is found guilty of not doing his duty, then he should be remunerated accordingly. But a teacher should be considered for multiple factors like research, contribution to society, impact, etc to finalize his salary, not just the academic performance of his students!