Teachers' salaries should be based on the academic performance of their students.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The performance of the students depends on lot of factors right from the innate ability to learn the factors that influence the person learning environment, where the child has been brought up, culture and the family background . The prompt says that the students’ academic performance should be the factor taken into consideration for their appraisals and promotion. I completely disagree with it as there are numerous factors that decide the success and performance of students.

Firstly, considering the fact that teachers are doing their best to teach the students, going to their level of understanding and explaining things that is more easily understood, however few students continue to fail in exam. Is that the fault of the teacher who has doing her job well? Will the evaluation take into account the efforts teacher has put to bring things to better understating level? No, of course not. For instance a reputed school in Bangalore named Bishop Cotton School, well known for the reputed teachers, few of them even achieved Ph.D. in their subject, put tremendous efforts and make sure that all students maintain consistent results across all subject and every semester. However, we still see many students still fail and had to repeat the class. In this circumstances, teacher should not be rated low. It could be that those students may have some other problem and that is why they are not performing well. It might also be that case that the surroundings in which they have brought in, is not letting them to study. Or it could be that the child itself has limited innate quality to grasp things.

Secondly, there are students who have flourish with flying colors in their pursuit of education without any teacher teaching nicely, in this context should be teacher highly rated? . Few students are extremely intelligent by birth and do not require any guidance, take for example the precocious child Nicolas Tesla. He never had a teacher who could give him quality education in suburbs of France, teaches never cared about the students much, still we saw Nicolas Tesla became a great scientist by inventing electricity .Therefore the success or the failure of students will never tell the merits of the teacher and they should not be accessed taking this factor.

However, some might argue that without teachers and proper guidance students cannot learn and explore the area of interest and do better in life and hence the success of students are the important factor to access the merits of teachers appraisal. But, the success of the student is more of the inner motivation to find the things that are interesting them and not on the external. Therefore, teachers performance should not be evaluated completely on the performance, but take into consideration of various factors as well like students background , family literacy rate etc.