Teachers' salaries should be based on the academic performance of their students.

A society prospers only when it has a well-educated generation to lead it in the future, and the most crucial roles are of the teachers who actually build these future leaders. Any unnecessary stress to the teachers will only be counterproductive. Stressing them financially based on performance of others, while they have little or nothing to do with it, is such an example of an unnecessary stress. Therefore, a teacher’s salary should not be a matter of stipulation based on the academic performance of his/her students.

A teacher’s performance is usually measured based on his/her class’s academic performance, however, it is not necessarily a true reflection of his/her abilities. Imagine John, who is not fond of mathematics and calculus flies over his head, performing poorly in Mr. Smith’s mathematics class and bringing down the average performance of the class. In such a scenario, it is not Mr. Smith’s inability to perform as a teacher, but rather John’s apathy towards mathematics that is causing the fall in the academic performance of the class. So punishing Mr. Smith by penalizing his salary will only be unjust. Under such scenario, it can be expected that some of the teachers may fall into the pit of mental stress because of prior financial stress, and eventually fabricate results of the class in order to “fix” their own lives. I am one hundred percent confident in asserting that the society will be much more comfortable accepting a student poor in mathematics, rather than accepting a “fabricated” expert in mathematics.

Furthermore, there are students who will be more than willing to take advantage of such a proposal in order to hide their own shortcomings. For example, a student with no academic ambition often finds himself being confronted by the teacher to perform better (of course the teacher is going to confront – after all his/her salary is at stakes!), however, he is vexed by the confrontation and decides to perform even worse just to take revenge on the teacher. As a result, the teacher’s salary decreases, and on papers, the teacher has been blamed for something he/she has nothing to do with. This decision will put the teachers into a more vulnerable state than one can fathom.

However, it is true that such a decision will have some positive impacts as well. The teachers will be more eager to find effective teaching strategies in order to improve the academic performance of the class and thus earn a higher salary for themselves. This will also raise competition among the teachers – a competition that can be very positive for the betterment of any academic institution.

Academic performance of students, one of the most important health-indicators of an academic institute, however, is not a true reflection of a teacher’s quality and ability to teach. The ramifications of structuring a teacher’s salary based on the academic performance of his/her students will not only open doors of immoral consequences, but also will deteriorate the healthy mind of the teacher. Therefore, any such proposal should not be allowed to surface into action.