Teachers' salaries should be based on their students' academic performance.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the

claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most

compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The statement above prescribes that payment of a teaching staff should be based on performance of their respective students. The topic generates many mixed emotions and I both agree and disagree to some extent here.

"There is nothing such as a bad student for a good teacher", I have heard this quote numerous times while growing up. We should avoid making the assumption that job of a teacher is similar to that of an accountant, manager, or any other corporates professional. Teaching is never a 'target' based job. The pedagogy system has it's impact on young lives and social aspects. Any person sitting in the classroom is a student, not a target to aim. Implementing the stated suggestion above could revoke two very different and divulged reactions.

Firstly, it could drift the teachers intentions and make them vigorous, in some cases more than needed, in wanting to improve the classroom performance. It could disturb the environment of healthy competition and make education focused only and solely on academics. The intrinsic aspects of education system - the classroom jokes, pushing students towards extra-curricular activities etc. could be endangered. As an example for this- the private coaching institutes in my country, have already implemented such a tactics. And while the results are improving, student have reported of increasing stress, anxiety, lack of social life due to continuous pressure.

The second and completely opposite reactions to this scenario would be improvement of the staff who strive by doing the bare minimum. 'To err is human', and some incompetent teachers prove that they are no god. It could help in monitoring the efforts and keep in check for teachers who in real take teaching as job and complete only the mentioned, sometimes not even that. Evidence for this again could be used from the public schools in rural areas. After urbanization when private schools were in trend many still couldn't afford it. Government employed teachers, in many cases not even took lectures resulting in poor academic results from a particular subject, or from a particular institute for years.

The field of education is dynamic and a vital aspect of our society and future, so imposing static laws would somewhere lead to frictions. In the end, I would conclude my opinion by saying while the given issue could be useful in improving lives of many students, not adding other aspects other than only academic could also hinder creativity and extra classroom expertise and experience for students.