Teachers' salaries should be based on their students' academic performance.

Teachers are some of the most undervalued professionals in our society. They are the individuals who shape and educate our future generations. They are also notoriously underpaid. The question of how a teachers' salary should be determined is a hard problem. To say a teachers' salary should be based on their students' academic performance would be ignoring many factors that might affect how that salary is determined. A teachers' salary would best be based upon a combination of factors such as tenure, peer and supervisor reviews, and difficulty of material being taught.

Many factors affect how a student performs. Their success does not solely come from their time in the classroom, but also from the support they receive at home. If a student lives in an environment that is chaotic and dysfunctional, they are likely to not have the support to work on their homework, study for exams and complete projects. Younger students likely won't have the discipline to do their studies without adult supervision. In communities where there is a higher percentage of single parents, broken families and lack of supervision, students are not living in an environment supportive of good study habits. Due to this, a student may be failing at no fault to the teachers' efforts. A teacher working in one of these communities would find themselves penalized for poor student performance. A teacher working in one of these communities should have a salary based upon how their peers and supervisors see them as a colleague and based upon how long they have been working in the community.

Student performance is also not a linear progression year to year. A group of students one year may do very well because of their particular makeup. The next year a group of students may not do so well. If a teacher has one year of great success with a high student performance, and in effect receives a raise, would that raise be taken away the next year with a group of lower performing students? In this scenario, teachers would be unable to rely upon financial stability unknowing what their salary would be from year to year. They would benefit more from peer and supervisor reviews ensuring they are being consistent from student group to student group as a factor in determining salary.

Lastly, students tend to perform better as a whole in certain subjects more than others. It would be likely that school districts would experience a surge of art teachers and a shortage of math teachers. Why would a teacher have any incentive to teach more difficult subjects where students are less likely to perform well if it would ultimately affect their salary? They would be inclined to choose a subject where they could apply less effort to have students perform well. For this reason the difficulty of subject matter should be a determining factor in a teachers' salary.

Teachers' salaries based upon student performance would be an injustice to teachers. Many factors should be considered when deciding how much to pay our educators.