Teachers should get paid according to the performance of the student.

It is a tricky question that to decide a baseline to pay the teachers since the teacher does not only represent staff who working for private school or elementary school which focus on training students with basic knowledge nowadays. Teachers who work for training institutions and elementary schools may deserve the performance-pay system. However, those who work at high school and university should pay by multiple systems.

Admittedly, teachers’ primary work is teaching student knowledge so that in the early stage of teaching, students’ performance can indicate the teaching ability of a teacher. Although teaching language, music, art is very different from teaching math, physics, and chemistry, different pieces of knowledge have their characters which need schools to develop multiple students’ performances. For schools which are in beginning training level, no matter which subject, the major point is letting teachers introduce the basic knowledge to students. In this circumstance, paying teachers by students’ behavior in class and their test is reasonable and, furthermore, can drive teachers to devote more energy to preparing class interesting and understandable.

However, any school provides education above elementary teaching level conduct performance-pay systems can hurt both teachers and students. Take a liberal arts field subject, for example, student’s achievements not only based on cultivation in school but also largely depend on individual persistent efforts. Moreover, according to the education institution’s test way, it is very hard to say the school can test and measure every student performance precisely. A student who becomes a famous writer may do not succeed in school performance. Even though the teacher inspired them a decade ago, because of student’s performance in school the teacher cannot continue their career would be a shame to the education system. On the other hand, in math education which requires strict class practice allow teachers to use tons of homework to push students learning more. In this case, even students have a good performance on the test, they may hate math in their rest of life. However, the teacher will get a high salary.

Therefore, based on the shortage of student’s performance measures when deciding the teacher’s salary. It is unfair and unreasonable to use this method on any education institution above the elementary level.