technology is aimed at making our lives simple but ends up making it complicated

The statement states that technology is aimed at making our lives simple but ends up making it complicated. I disagree with the statement.

There has been a rampant growth in the technology sector of almost all the developing countries and all of the developed countries in the last decade. A simple example to illustrate this fact is smartphone which brought about a revolution in the communication sector. Smartphones have evolved from mobile phones which had in turn evolved from cordless telephones. This evolution hardly took 10 years. Smartphones play a major role in our lives and not only as a device for oral communication. If a person has to go on a vacation and doesn't have the luxury to carry a lot devices, smartphones are the answer. Smartphones provides us a way to communicate via text messages or video calling. We can capture good quality pictures with it, use the maps feature to track down a place we want to visit or GPS feature to ensure we are not lost. We can use the smartphone as a translator and communicate in a foreign language. These features seem daunting at first to a new user leading to a conclusion that smartphone is complicating his/her life but if a person passes the initial hurdle of just operating the phone with an open mind, he/she can see how helpful it is.

This example can be extended to all kinds of technologies. A surgeon may feel uncomfortable using an robotic arm for performing a surgery but once he/she is able to operate it well, many complicated operations can be performed efficiently. Switching from a book to e-ink reader might take some time to get used to, but in turn provide a way to read while travelling , save up space and also save the environment. Simple technologies like washing machine saves tremendous efforts and time.

Technology can seem to make life complicated but if a person puts in a little effort with an open mind, that same technology can make his/her life easier in many ways.