Technology, while apparently aimed to simplify our lives, only makes our lives more complicated.

In the 1980s and early 1990s, many thought that the advent of a personal computer would be a short-lived experiment with little merit. Despite the naysayers, vanguards of the technological boom, like Steve Jobs and Bill Gates, steered a nation, lest the world at large, onto a path with brilliant path of innovaion. From the advent of the personal computer to cell phones, and wi-fi, billions of people around the world, and every nation, were transfromed from isolation to globalism. The speed at information is instananeously transmitted and shared benefits any inqusitive person who wishes to gain knowledge, or connect with distant family, and communicate with a plethora of people whether nearby or far away. While many of these benefits are efficient, instant gratification technology provides has negative, pernicious effects.

Psychologically, social media has a negative effect on human psyche. Studies have shown that though people may digitally feel connected to a network of peers, and strangers, the degredation of in-person social interaction can make a person feel isolated, disconnected from basic social interation. Further, by comparing one's self to long forgotten peers or more successful, beautiful, or affluent friends can trigger questions about self-worth, isolation, and depression. Social media has the ability to display class-stratification of peers whom otherwise would not be in a person's life. A barrage of envy has the ability to trun even the most jovial person lachrymose.

Though short-lived, instant gratification increases dopamine. Many apps and people use are designed to attract and gratify minds multiple times a day. While this may be a benefit in the moment, the crash from the positive effects of dopamine puts psyche into an unhealth upcycle, detrimental to health.

Lastly, the attraction to and use of social media may hinder personal privacy. The pernicious combination of oversharing and techological company's scouer for metadata makes the Freedom of Information act moot. Social security numbers, address, driver's license number, and other personal data are found on the deep web and can be used as espionage.

In closing, technology may make our lives faster, more accessible and easier, but there are significant trade offs. Psychologically there are negative ramifications and personal priviacy are placed at risk.