Technology, while apparently aimed to simplify our lives, only makes our lives more complicated.

Technology is present daily in our lives. We use our phones to call, text, and view social media. We use computers and tablets and televisions to work, and learn about the world, or even for entertainment. We use cars for driving and planes to travel to other countries or places. Overall, technology is everywhere and in many ways it does simplify our lives. However, it also does make our lives more complicated. With great power comes great responsibility and that is definitely true with technology. While our lives get easier because we rely on technology, we also encounter other problems such as over dependence on technology, or moral and ethical issues.

Due to the constant presence of technology all around us, it has become a big part of our every day lives. We use it often and therefore, when it does not work for us, we do not know how to exist without it. When our phone dies or the wifi goes out and we cannot use the computer or television, we get frustrated or angry because we cannot use the device how we want to or need to. In this way, by making humans rely on technology, they forget how to function without it.

There is also the issue of moral and ethical problems that come with advanced technology. Self-driving cars are a big dilemma because there is the issue of whether or not the car will stop or brake when people are crossing. If there is a technical malfunction, the car becomes destructive and innocent beings could get seriously injured. Another ethical problem is cloning and stem cell research which also rely on advanced technology. These bring up the question of whether or not cloning is ethical and whether stem cells can be used to create organs, or perform transplants. In this way, the more advanced technology gets, the more complicated the issue becomes of whether or not to implement or use the technology.

That technology makes our lives more complicated is an unpopular opinion. Many would argue that technology in fact does not make our lives more complicated. Rather, they argue that it makes our lives better and easier than previous generations of people. They argue that people before us had a harder time navigating the world and learning information due to a lack of technology or even the tech that we have now. They would argue that without technology playing a part in our lives, we would not be where we are. While they are not wrong, it still does not dismiss the fact that as tech becomes more advanced and nuanced, there will be moral and ethical issues and that humans will depend on it.

All in all, technology is created to make human lives more easier and make the creating, navigating, and learning process more efficient. However, while it makes our lives easier, it also becomes more intricate to navigate some of the issues with newer and newer tech.