Technology, while apparently aimed to simplify our lives, only makes our lives more complicated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Whether the technology has simplified our lives or has made it more complicated is a long existing debate topic. Our lives have become dependent on technology inextricably.

Technology has simplified our lives to a very great extent. The tasks which seemed impractical have been made possible by various technological advancements. For instance, communicating with people staying in other places, used to be a very time taking process, as it took substantial amount of time for the letters or telegrams to reach, but now thanks to the advancement in the communication field, people no matter where they live are only a phone call away. We can talk to them, and see them as well anytime we want. Sharing pictures and moments has become easy and can be done in jiffy. Computers have made our lives so easy, staying in touch with people, learning new things has been made easy.

Internet is the biggest advancement in technology. It has made the whole world available to the individual on the palm of their hand. One can know about what is happening around sitting at his/ her home, be it proposing new ideas, putting forth their point of view regarding a matter, starting a new business everything has been made simple and practical.

Traveling from one place to another has been made amazingly simple by technology, as there are various modes of transportation available, and now one does not have to spend an abundant amount of time in traveling, and the time saved in traveling can be used in doing something productive.

Several aspects of our lives has been simplified by technology, take washing machine for example, washing clothes have been made so easy, all you need to do is press a button. Tiring task as doing laundry has been made so simple.

Though the technology has made our lives simple, it in a way has made it complicated as well. The energy consumption has increased drastically in last few decades, because of the advancement in technology. This drastic increase in the energy consumption has lead to increase in global warming which in turn has lead to rise in sea level. Internet and cell phones have become the inextricable part of our lives, we have become over dependent on them, and without them our lives would probably fall apart. Technology is a double edged sword, as it can either liberate or enslave.

Undoubtedly, technology has made our lives easier but there are few instances where technology has complicated our lives.