There is little justification for society to make extraordinary efforts — especially at a great cost in money and jobs — to save endangered animal or plant species.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The environment of the globe is ever changing and one of the reasons responsible for the changes are daily activities of humans. People are building factories that sometimes do not follow the governmental regulations and as a result pollute the environment. Some believe that these types of activities have also affected the lives of several animal and plant species. Consequently, efforts are being taken by various organizations, either funded by the government or not, to save endangered species of flora and fauna. In my opinion, I mostly agree with the initiative of taking measures, sometimes at the expense of extraordinary efforts, to save the endangered species.

To begin, the overall healthy functioning of our ecosystem is dependent on the survival of all types of species. Ecosystem is defined as the interaction of different species in a certain environment to maintain the stability of the surroundings. If any of the species go extinct, then the ecosystem is greatly affected negatively. For instance, cockroaches seem to be a notorious creature that serves no purpose in the environment. However, these species are the recycle bins of the planet; they eat almost anything that is not useful for the humans. If cockroaches go extinct, then the amount of garbage laying around on the ecosystem will increase by large amounts. As a consequence, the ecosystem will be negative affected. Thus, putting efforts to save the ecosystem by taking steps to save endangered species is a noble cause.

Next, the steps taken to put extra ordinary efforts to save species creates lots of opportunities or jobs for many people. This is beneficial for persons who have not been able to support themselves due to scarcity of jobs. Therefore, the money invested in organizations to save the endangered species is justifiable.

In contrast to the benefits, some may argue that the economy of a society may be jeopardized if tremendous amounts of money is spent on saving the endangered species. Indeed, this could be possible if the government officials are not careful enough to determine and calculate the costs involved to tackle the endangered species issue. It must be the responsibility of economists working for the government to not allow the investment in affairs that may put the economy of the country at risk.

In conclusion, all species in an environment play significant role for the smooth functioning of our ecosystem. Thus, initiatives taken to save the endangered species of animals and plants should be greatly supported. Taking such measures opens jobs for various people. An extraordinary effort is sometimes required to save the imperiled species of flora and fauna.