The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The letter to the editor of Balmer Island Gazette raised issues on the number of moped related accidents in the Island. The recommendation to tackle this issue is to curtail by fifty percent the number of mopeds allowed to be given for rent. While the issue raised is an important one, the envisioned reduction in the number of accidents may not be attainable because the reasons to support the employment of the recommendation raises a few questions.

First, is the relationship to limit the number of rental mopeds directly proportional to the accidents occurring in Balmer island? It could be possible that there are only a few drivers who ride mopeds in a haphazard manner, potentially causing accidents. Perhaps the majority of drivers involved in accidents are the ones who own their mopeds and do not rent from agencies. If this turns out to be true, then the argument does not hold water as there are a variety of factors involved rendering the relation between leased moped not directly proportional to the number of accidents.

Second, do most of the people in the Island depend on rental companies for getting mopeds? This may not necessarily be the case because it is probable that many residents on the island own their mopeds. It could be possible that the rental companies have very little customers as compared to the mopeds owned by the individuals in Balmer. An alternative possibility could be that there are a few rental companies in Balmer and limiting will not significantly reduce mopeds on the roads. If either of these turn out to be true, then the recommendation to cut back the number of mopeds allowed to be leased may not be as effective as envisioned in the letter to the editor.

Third, are the traffic conditions in Seaville similar or identical to the conditions in Balmer island? It could be the case that both areas do not share any similar traffic conditions such as roads, safety regulations, speed limits, etc. Thus, the reasoning based on something that may be present in Seaville, which could be not be in Balmer does not sound logical. Hence, the argument is falling apart.

In conclusion, the island may not be able to achieve the envisioned reduction in the number of accidents related to mopeds due to the concerns raised above. If the raised questions are responded with satisfactory explanations, then further actions may be taken to solve the problem of moped related accidents in Balmer.