Those who see their ideas through, regardless of doubts or criticism others may express, are the ones who tend to leave a lasting legacy.

Our desires and ambitions and how those are decisively utilized can make the world a better place. Thorughout history there have been a number of individuals who have pushed through their ideas amid extensive criticism and hardships, which ultimately left a lasting legacy for all of us to admire.

One example of a legend who inarguably made an impact to our society is Steve Jobs. He effectively pioneered the expansive effort to make personal computers accessible in layman terms in the 90s. Intense criticism and other issues led him to become an pariah within Apple, and he left only to come back as the prodigal son in the early 2000s. As the new leader of the company, he defined the availability of personal music with the iPod, he defined what a smartphone should be with the iPhone, and prior to his death, envisioned what would be come the iPad. Such a legacy could only have been accomplished by him. Today, Apple struggles to innovate as they did in the past, and some ponder if they will lead the way into the future as they in the last 20 years.

Another grandiose leader was LBJ. The former President with his "Great Society" agenda was able to have a lasting impact in the country. Three long lasting pieces of legislation, the Civil Rights Act, Medicaid and Medicare were signed into law during his administration. Although he was harshly criticized for his handling of the Vietnam War, his vision for the country was not derailed. His personal experience as a former Senate majority leader made him unique to see his plan through. Even though his reputation was tainted by the national issues of the time, today he is one of the many great examples of leaders who envisioned a plan and left a unique legacy in the country.

Creating a lasting legacy is not a feat that can be accomplished by everyone. It can only be done by people with vision and the desire to plow through criticisms and their own personal doubts. Steve Jobs and LBJ are two legends who have seismically changed our society. One through technology and the other through government, have become aspirations to all of us of the good we can do for our people if we follow a sedulous plan which can turn is into legends.