Today it is clear that our increasing use of technology has caused more harm than good for mankind.

With the advent of communication networks, the world has come closer to each other. Today, one can easily communicate with a friend or a family member who stays on another continent almost free of cost, a facility which was rare and expensive just decades ago. With applications like Skype, Google Meet or Zoom, professional meetings and conferences with colleagues based in different parts of the world, can be conducted with ease. In an international crisis like the COVID-19 pandemic, the entire world is working remotely from the safety of their home due to these advancements in networks and the internet. This ability to constantly stay in touch with co-workers, friends and family is a definately a positive effect of technology.

Travel, or commuting from one place to another, is a cruial part of our lives. Ever since the invention of the wheel, humans are constantly trying to improve the ways in which we travel. Journeys that took days are now completed within ours. Almost every major city in the entire world has an airport. Small towns and villages, even in developing countries are accessible with roads and rails. The ever-increasing curiosity to discover the world beyond planet earth, has taken humans to the moon and beyond. Even a developing nation like India, with the aid of technology and some brilliant minds has successfully completed space missions to Mars. None of this would have been possible without technology.

Although technology has made our lives easier, there are cases where we have become over-dependent on gadgets. Today, infants and toddlers won't eat anything without a phone in their hands; Just a decade ago, mothers were seen narrating stories to their children while feeding them. With easy access to internet, cases of teenagers getting addicted to explicit content and cyber bullying are on the rise. The need to constantly stay online, which these kids are learning from their parents, is detrimental to their growth. The general communication and bond that people used to share with their immediate family members and neighbours has taken a hit. However, all the awareness regarding these problems is also increasing now, and none of these ill-effects is strong enough to overshadow the advantages of technology.

Keeping in mind all these advantages and disadvantages mentioned hitherto, it can be seen that although technological advancements have had detrimental effects on human life as we know, the advantages and benefits that we are reaping cannot be neglected. Thus, by conciously keeping track of the way we use technology, we can easily take full advantage of it without causing too much harm to ourselves or to the society.