Topic: A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the event to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

It has been said that a nation divided cannot stand. While many nations choose to unite themself in a variety of ways, such as budget, defense, policy, or other matters, one of the possibly more contentious matters is that of education. The recommendation that a nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter into college, if they choose to do so, is one that hopes to quell the discussion. This national curriculum would benefit a nation in a variety of ways, and could be used to great effectiveness. While there are some possible setbacks, the benefits far outweigh the potential cost.

The first potential benefit of such a system would be that standardizing education across the entirety of a nation means that the entire nation is educated to the same level country-wide. Currently, with different states or provinces of any given nation dictating their own educational requirements, what is considered exemplary in one area of the country may be considered sub-par in another. Given the modern world's propensity for encouraging students to move to areas outside where they grew up (either for education, vocation, or another reason) it is entirely possible that a student who was raised in, perhaps, Mississippi, which boasts some of the lowest literacy rates in the United States, could move to New Jersey, which boasts one of the highest. Having these different scales of success dependent on state level means that this hypothetical student could suffer in a new location and effectively be penalized for having been born in an area with a poorer curriculum. A national curriculum could effectively solve that problem, and is a very convincing argument in favor of implementing it.

Furthermore, to standardize the education of a nation in its entirety means that the citizens of that nation are all equally educated in a variety of topics, which would ostensibly cover everything from STEM to geopolitics. A standardized education could help to pave the way for a more globally minded society, in which the citizens of this nation all have equal understanding of the world; the alternate option is one in which students in one state may have covered the different contexts of modern events and what caused them, while another state has not. As a result, the more globally minded state is better educated when it comes to history or politics, as compared to the other state, which chose to focus on more local and state history (a good thing, but not entirely necessary should any of those students choose to move out of the state or the country). This fact would greatly help national education, especially for places like the United States, whose citizens are known globally for their poor understanding of geography, geopolitics, and other subjects.

Of course, a standardized national education could possibly bring drawbacks. In extreme cases, such as that of dictatorial rule, standardized education has been effectively used as a propaganda machine, working to further the despotic rule instead of trying to improve the minds of the citizens. In such cases, one could argue that the standardization of a national curriculum could stifle independent thought, and by extension, semblances of free speech. One could also argue against the system by advocating that to do so grants greater federal control, thereby weakening the states and paving the way toward a possible totalitarian government. In addition, the widespread standardization of such a curriculum would inevitably come at a great financial cost, as existing curriculums would have to be replaced, and schools that do not have the means to implement parts of the curriculum (such as if they did not have the funds to hire a certain teacher for a given subject) would have to be subsidized in order to afford the cost of this new curriculum. These subsidies would then have to come in either government funding or increased taxes. However, given the widespread success of countries that have implemented a national curriculum, such as Germany or several of the Nordic countries, the possible benefits appear to far outweigh the possible cost, and to assume that a standardized curriculum would inevitably lead to propagandistic measures is to catastrophize a potential boon to the educational community.