True beauty is found not in the exceptional but in the commonplace."

Write an essay in which you take a position on the statement above. In developing and supporting your essay, consider instances in which the statement does and does not hold true

As we go about our daily lives, we tend to fall into patterns. It is human nature to stay within a comfort zone. As a result, we become accustomed to our surroundings and can often lose focus on what is actually surrounding us. This has led to the saying that "True beauty is found not in the exceptional but in the commonplace". With this statement, it is important to have a clear understanding of what "beauty" really means. Beauty is cohesive, pleasing, and innocuous. We have become immune to the stimulus of our common surroundings and as a result, we do not always appreciate their true beauty. When we experience something that is exceptional, we are noticing it not because it is necessarily beautiful, but rather that is is different. Ergo, I completely agree with the statement that beauty is, in fact, found in the commonplace.

Every individual is raised in a unique environment and has different experiences throughout their life. As a result, everyone forms their own views and interpretations of the world and their surroundings. Thus, everyone has their own interpretation of what beauty really is - Beauty is relative. Despite this, it is common amongst the majority of individuals that beauty typically indicates something that is pleasing, relaxing, and unobtrusive. This is exactly what surrounds us everyday. We have become comfortable with our surrounds and no longer give it and piece of mind.

On the other hand, when we experience something that is exceptional, it is something that we are not used to. It is something that falls out of our daily observances. Just because it stands out from what we are used to, does not mean that it is beautiful. However, this does not indicate that things that are exceptional are not beautiful. As a matter of fact, many things that are exceptional are also beautiful.

Humans are repetitive in nature and we often become comforatble with our surroundings.

As a result, we lose our appreciation for the beauty that surrounds us everyday. We fall into a state where we only notice things that are different. However, despite these different occurances, which may be beautiful, our common surrounds contain true beauty.