True success can be measured primarily in terms of the goals one sets for oneself.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

True success is the measure of the actions that we take in the course of the activities. These activities can we can have varied in extent; a day short or a month long. I agree with the author's impression that true success can be measured by the completion of goals we promise our self, but with some reservations.

Goals are the attribute that defined the morality of the life. When I joined college, I was not interested in studying the course I opted but due to the late admission, circumstances force upon me to select Industrial Engineering. For my freshmen year, I failed in most of the classes but granted conditional promotion for the next year. Consequently, my parents have to visit to the dean and sign a proclamation regarding the promise that I will study hard to maintain GPA 6.5 out of 10 else I will be exorcized. Noticing my parents’ misery and discontent I decided to make a goal of scoring GPA 7/10 in my upcoming semester. Initially I did not like the subject but after attending in the class and then later self-studying in the library helped me to cope up with the syllabus. I proceeded in completing assignments timely and kept the 85 percent attendance in whole semester. Subsequently, I scored 7.89/10 GPA in the the final exams of my semester, conquering the goal that i made in the starting of the semester. I was content with my accomplishment regarding which I promised myself in the beginning. Therefore, my success can be defined as the the goal i set which I was able to conquer in the given duration.

There is the another illustration which prove the said claim. while I was in high school, I made a goal of learning the swimming and participate in the inter school competition. I had no knowledge about the sports and did not had any resources near my home to learn it as live in downtown to the city. The school swimming pool was the only way to learn but I do not have sufficient fund to hire a coach. Thereafter, I decided to finance my coaching by myself and took a job in the nearby Mc Donald which paid me enough to pay for 3-month fee for coaching. I worked after school hours for 3 hours and came back to learn the basics of swimming. At first, it feels like giving up as people around me were nerve-wracking professionals whereas I on the other hand was the only apprentice but I gathered enough strength and learned my way to be a professional swimmer. After 3 months of my paid coaching, I practiced for 10 more months on my own and signed up for inter school competition. During which, even though I was relatively slapdash in comparison to the other candidates I performed well enough to receive 5th rank in my age group out of 20 swimmers. Hence, that triumph provided enough motivation to keep continuing in swimming later. Therefore, Success is the sum of the decisions we take and the implementation of those decision.

It is also true that with my accomplishment, my parents and friends were also exultant with my performance which ultimately gave me courage and motivation to go forward to achieve other things in my life. I was also able to persuade my friends to deal with their own life goals. So it can be said that feedback of one's success can also instigate other in achieving their goals.

In conclusion, due to the personal examples states above it can be said that success is dignified in terms of the goal we achieve and later encourage others in being the best version of themselves.