True success can be measured primarily in terms of the goals one sets for oneself.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

If goals were to define the success, than the one who had set very high goals and has underachieved would be unsuccessful and one with very minute goals; frequently achieving them would be super successful. It is very important to know the definition of success as per ones own point of view. For a poor guy, achieving the goal of having consistent 3 times meal for his family, a house to live, and education for children could be the idea of success while for someone else being capable of having luxury cars, huge villa and large number of domestic maids would mean success. That is why goals cannot be considered as primary measure of one's success but they can definitely reflect the achieve-ability of that person.

Additionally, people can have no idea of what to expect from themselves that is why they end up either over-expecting or under-expecting from themselves. This difference between the practicality and self expectations render the 'goals' unreliable as a primary measure of one's success. Take for an example if the Indian cricketer Virat Kohli sets goal to break every record that a well known former cricketer Sachin Tendulkar has set, Virat will find himself underacheiving in most of the situations, while he could be the best batsman of his time. But the higher set goals would never give him the sense of success.

On the other hand, if some one ends up setting targets way below their capability they will have a fallacious idea of success. They might find themselves overwhelmed with success but in reality, would have been achieving nothing. Take for an example a minister in India Mr. Arvind Kejriwal is well known for his habit of over-advertising his puny achievements. This creates a dilemma for citizens they find the minister bragging about their well accomplished jobs but nothing around them changes to abate their day to day problems.

Furthermore, several circumstance have set people aside from the path of achieving their targets, but they have found themselves capable of performing very well on this new precarious roads performing without setting any targets. If the theory in discussion was true this kind of people would be nothing more than abject failures.

Conclusively, it is very important to know what your idea of success is and what are your capabilities to set goals and then to start to pursue them, to measure the success on achievement-of-goals basis.