True success lies in rejecting the familiar things.

Unless we reject the common thing happening around us, we cannot enlighten us, at least this is what the speaker asserts. Although, there are various examples in the history where those who have dared to challenge the existing law, principles have given greater contribution, I feel the speaker is a bit extreme. Despite having merit, the statement overly generalizes the process of gaining knowledge, which in my view includes both rejection and acceptance.

To begin with, let us take an example of Buddha. Buddha, who is followed in revered as incarnation of god in eastern society, has been successful in gaining cult followers who keep on following his teachings. Buddha is thought to have gain enlightment. And when we follow his life story, we can know he sacrificed his family in search of truth. For the knowledge, he left his parents, wife and newly born son and went forward in the new path seeking the ultimate truth. After abandonment of the familiar, he paved his new way which enriched his knowledge about life and sufferings. Had he not reject the familiarity, he would have never been successful in achieving these truth about life and enlighting the whole world with his knowledge.

Similarly, we can also take an example of Nicholas Copernicus. Despite having objection from the church, which strongly believed earth to be the center of the world, Copernicus kept on advocating about the heliocentric model of the universe in which sun is at the center. He was curious enough to watch the world and it's happenings with the new eye and hence was able to pave the way for a new science. Rejecting the long held belief about earth, which was not based on scientific foundations, he was able to satisfy his hunger for knowledge. This shows, unless we challenge the common held belief we cannot bring the knowledge to inspire others.

On the flip side, there are plethora of scientists, philosophers who have accepted the common belief and have been able to bring change. For instance, Galileo Galilie who accepted the theory of Copernicus and only then he was able to contribute to the field of astronomy. Another example we can see of Stephen Hawking. Hawking, apparently, never went against Einstein theory of relativity and continued pursuing the theory and was able to bring the change. Had he not accepted the theory and went on to reject it, he would not have been this successful in bringing the knowledge in the world. Similarly, Martin Luther king, who accepted the non-violence policy of Mahatma Gandhi and was successful in bringing end to the ongoing prejudice in then American society.

In summary, although rejecting the common held belief is in many cases the way to gain further knowledge, it's not the only way. While we can get many examples of those who contributed great because of their rejection of familiarity, we also find many examples where people and accepted the old theory or familiarity and been able to contribute to their knowledge, Hence the speaker's assertion is only true partially.