People’s attitudes are determined more by their immediate situation or surrounding than by society as a whole.

People’s attitude can be shaped by various factors. Some people have notion that people’s thoughts and stance is determined by immediate surroundings. Others adopt a different view and advocate that society as a whole determines people’s thoughts. While the former statement is true to some extent, it is latter that is corroborated by practical evidence.

People’s thoughts is shaped by the immediate situation if that situation affects a larger mass or large number of people. People perceive something as significant if it has impacted numerous people. In 2012, massive earthquake hit Nepal which had devastating effect, taking many lives and inviting many casaulties. After that event, the tourism sector was severely affected: the number of tourists arriving in Nepal declined sharply in the following years. Peoples attitude towards Nepal changed; they considered Nepal to be unsafe place to visit and deemed it unwise to visit Nepal. Their attitude shifted due to a major event which had affected larger mass of people.

However, it is the society as a whole that has major impact in determining people’s attitude in the long run. People thoughts and stance are usually rigid and doesn’t change overnight: it requires much time and is changed only after much time and effort. Society plays a key role is shaping a person’s thought. Marriage of same sex was considered unethical and even illegal during past time. People treated homosexuality as taboo and treated homosexuals with contempt. Alan Turin, who had played integral part in code-breaking efforts in world war II, was convicted of homosexuality; He commited suicide after two years of conviction. After decades of struggle and movements, marriage of same sex was legalized only recently. Though it seems an immediate event, it took herculean effort and time. People’s attitude towards marriage of same sex changed, LGBT were considered as normal as othercitizens and marriage of same sex was also reverred.

Society’s stance has changed the attitude of people towards racial inequality in America. In past, Society considered people with black skin to be inferior and the people’s attitude towards black colored people was wanton. Through various movements, the society changed. The movement by Rosa Parks and Martin Luther King helped alleviate racial injustice in USA; people’s thoughts about racial injustice also changed.It took a great deal of time for the paradigm shift of people about racial inequality and it was only possible because of the change in stance of society towards it.

Many would argue that immediate surrounding shapes peopl’s thoughts and perception. However, in the long term, it is society as a whole that has a determining role is shaping people’s attitude and perception.