People's attitudes are determined more by their immediate situations or surrounding than by society as a whole.

Does the attitude of the people depends on the immediate situations or surrounding or it is dependent on the society which he/she belongs?. This is a complex issue. However, the nature and attitude of any person is largely dependent on the society in which he/she grows and brought up. But there are certain situations in which it is very much dependent on the immediate and surrounding situations. I consider the author's statement is far more correct from my point of view because the immediate circumstances and environment is very much dependent in the attitude of the people rather the society factor.

The first reason that supports the claim is that in the fast developing world it is very much necessary to be with the latest advancement of the technology and situations. If a person wants to do only what his/her societies ancestor did than it is very difficult to survive in this fast growing environment. Thus, the attitude of the people is dependent more on the immediate situations than the society.

The world is filled with certain examples that encountered the more impact of the immediate situations rather than the society. Consider the example of Mahatma Gandhi, who was a prominent lawyer and was brought up in a typical gujarat society who always stays happy in its own life. But the train incident which took place in South Africa has changed his view of seeing the world. After that incident he made up his mind to fight for the truth and give justice to the society. If the train incident would have not happened than it would be a different scenario and Indians would have not got the Mohandas Gandhi as a Father Of The Nation but as a lawyer. Thus, immediate situations play very important roles in the life rather than the society.

The other reason to take into consideration is that the immediate situations and circumstances play a vital role in the development of the person’s attitude. Scientific research has also shown great evidences that the attitude of the people is dependent more on the immediate actions and situations. There is apotheosis saying that 'the fruit changes its color seeing the color of the surrounding fruit'. This is a well said proverb which clearly states that it is the surrounding environment that changes the attitude of the people rather than the society.

Despite this all claims the confluence of society on the nature, behavior and attitude is also immense. The society in which a person borns and is brought up teaches him/her many things which are the ethics of his life and hence plays a vital role in the attitude of the people.

Summing up all these claims the authors claim regarding the determination of attitude is a skeptical issue. But I consider that the society plays a vital role in the determination of the people’s attitude but it is more influenced by the immediate situations. And hence the people's attitude are determined by their immediate situations than by society as a whole.