A true university education encompasses far more than the narrow, specialized study of a single discipline. Only through exploring the broad spectrum of liberal arts courses can students become truly learned.

The author states that a true university education encompasses far more than the narow, specialized study of a single discipline and only through exploring the broad spectrum of liberal arts courses can the students become truly learned. I agree with the author as I, too, believe that a university education should be all round and should consist of liberal arts to achieve overall learning. The following points will elucidate my stance.

I believe that universities should provide overall development as we go to the universities to prepare ourselves to step into the real world. To do well in this world, and to be able to take care of ourselves, we should be equipped with dealing with real life situations that are related to not only the field that we will be working in but also in our daily life. For this we need an overall development which includes not only academic but also personal development that will be provided when we are pursuing and exploring the various liberal arts. They help us in shaping our personality which forms the basis of the kind of people we want to be.

When we concentrate on only our specialty while we are pursuing a degree at a university, we are restricting the scope of the subjects that we will be learning. Along with this, we also restrict the kind of exposure we will receive on topics other than our field of specialty. This may end up in hampering our personality development as we are fixated on only our field of specialization. This personality development, that happens when we are exposed to the liberal arts, helps us in gaining people skills, communication skills, etc which help us in facing the real world. We sure will have all the knowledge that we need in our field of specialization but as we know, man is a social being and hence interaction with other people and having self confidence is as important as having the knowledge or the skill.

Moreover, we go to universities for a higher education, that is an education more advanced than the one that we received in the school. We want to learn new things and gain new experiences. We want something more than what we were given in our schools, we want something better. This better should include not only knowledge regarding the field of our specialization but also about other aspects of life which are equally as important.

Although, I have to agree that somethimes we may even feel that the whole reason of pursuing a degree at a university and the reason for spending so much money on higher education is to gain expertise in that specific field of study that we are more interested in and that we want to have careers in. We may even feel that we had explored the liberal arts in school so we have explored that field but we may need more than a superficial exposure to be able to develop our personalities in a better way.

In conclusion, I agree that specialized study is a very vital part of university education but to be truly learned, exposure to the liberal arts is equally as important and that's what a true university education should comprise of.