"Truly innovative ideas tend to come from individuals, because groups tend to work towards consensus and the status quo.”

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The brain is a very complex organ even not fully understood now. Hence one might think a combination of brains might make room for more innovation. However the reverse tends to be true rules like the 80/20 percent rule backs this claim. Furthermore history is on this side of the fence as scientist like Newton, Einstien and others have made major contributions to the development of humnaity than many groups have.

On major example that stands out to me because of my background is the innvoative and radical approach used by Kwame Nkrumah to help Ghana became the first sub-saharan country to gain independence from its colonial masters. Long before entering the scene people like Paa Grant, Obetsebi Lamptey among others were leading the charge to help Ghana, gain independence from British rule. However, their approach hinged on a cursory theme of "getting independence in the shortest possible time". A cause they have been championing for over a decade without much results. Upon Kwame Nkrumah's innovative approach of rallying Ghanaians, educating them on the benefits of independence and proponenting a theme that rather suggested "independence now" Ghana gained its independence in just two years. Another example that mainly shakes the foundations of engineering and space travel is the innovative idea brought to live by the individual Elon Musk. He challenge the status quo that was believed by many groups in this field of engineering. He built resuable spaceships that seemed impossible two to three decades ago, in the field of space travel and engineering. He challenged the boundaries many groups of engineers and researchers at top instituions like NASA embraced. His innovative idea has now slashed the cost of space travel by a whooping 50 percent or more, making the acheivement of many technological advancement plausible.

These two examples are testament that truly innovative ideas often tend to come from individuals, because groups have certain procedures to meet making innovations too costly for them to embrace.

However, one might counter saying the quick development of the COVID-19 vaccine in the wake of the pandemic is a major example of how groups can also quickly come up with smart ideas that benefits humanity. This might definitely be true but further research showed that the group of researched to develop the vaccine did so based of the hardwork and research of another scientist. The work of this scientist served as the major bearing to speed up the development process.