"We venerate loyalty - to our schools, employers, instituitions, friends as - a virtue.Loyalty, however, can be at least as detrimental an influence as it can be a beneficial one.”

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Loyalty gives life to many natural activities just like many other traits like friendship, hence lo

One major example that stands out is the believe that loyalty is a natural tendency that transcends humanity. It is a trait expressed in many animal species. This invaluable trait helps create a sense of belonging, its a part of the thread thats weaves a family together, bringing people of diverse backgrounds together to build communities which in turn could lead to the formation of nations. At the foundation of almost every nation is the feature of loyalty. For example, Kwame who fought for the independence of Ghana after his studies in the United Kingdom had a huge work opportunity that could had paid him huge sums of money, however, he resolved to come back to the then Gold Coast to liberate it from the shackles of colonialism. Who knows Ghana might have been the first sub-saharan country to gain independence had Kwame Nkrumah not had a sense of loyalty to his nation of birth.

Also, loyalty brings together individuals from differents facets of life to cohesively work on projects that are often of immense benefit to humanity. For example, the loyalty that once existed among the various Akan tribes in Ghana during the reign of their king Osei Tutu I, they put aside their difference, ended their long tribal disputes and wars to work together to fight the Colonial masters. This led to huge victory which is still study in the classrooms of many Ghanaian schools.

Though loyalty might have its shortcomings such as the loyalty many Nazi's had in Hithler to further his idea of cleansing the human race. A dent that will echo in history for a long time, this example though expouse some of the negativity of loyalty, further scrutiny will show that many Nazi commanders followed Hithler not mainly because they were loyal to his cause but because they were terrified. Yes loyalty will definitely have its shortcomings just as many other beneficial human traits, and this will mainlt be because some human beings often misappropriately use these positive traits to brandish evil act. Hence, loyalty in it self is not detrimental but when the motives behind it is wrong then that becomes the problem.