Undergraduate students majoring in Business or in the Sciences should not be required to take any courses in the Humanities since those courses won’t benefit their future careers.

Write a response to the prompt in which you discuss whether or not you agree or disagree. Be certain to fully develop your position and carefully consider ways in which your position could be challenged.

Undergraduate degree is where the student embarks his first step towardsd their career of interest. Every curriculum is framed based on a particular discipline of study by a committee. This committee also deems the students to pursue few subjects on humanities, irrespective of what ones domain of interest is. While this argument can defended, as in the long run these subjects help to shape a student for the betterment and to face the real world; for various reasons this method does decrease students morale, and the expected outcome won't be achieved. Curriculum followed by students while pursuing in their bachelors, must not deviate from their interests whilst it must be framed around it.

Predominant part of the student community step into college life by choosing a programme of their likes and interests. This is indeded a very smart decision as they get an oppurtunity to learn and excel in the areas they want to, which ultimately helps them pursue their career. But the same students will indeed face difficulty following the subjects apart from their domain, present in the college curriculum. This is something decreasing the morale of student and affect his focus towards his career interests. A failed grade in the additional humanity subject might not only lead to questioning himself , but his profile which affects an individuals job prospects.

While on the otherhand, college education has never indeed been easy on the pockets. An undergraduate degree can cost around $10,000 per year. Measures such as the addition of humanity subjects might help out students who have less clear picture of their interests and career. Whilst this also shows how it is not economically feasible, as a student spends more time in college and does not graduate in time. A college must be a place that prepares students and equips them for the real world as soon as possible, but not the other way around by dampening their run and performance.

The mandatory addition of humanities subjects in every programmes curriculum might benefit a little population of unplanned students to explore more areas and improve quality of students graduating, but it doesn't seem to be a worthy tradeoff while letting down the good students who choose programmes based on their future career interests.