The following is a petition to the city council of Centerville:

"Over the past three years, there has been a marked increase in cases of 'sidewalk rage,' similar to the irrational anger drivers experience on the road, but instead among sidewalk walkers. The result is an increase in assaults, property damage, and disruptions of normal pedestrian traffic. In order to address this growing problem, the council must ban cell phone use on sidewalks. Not only do people texting or using their phones slow down pedestrian traffic, but they are also more likely to walk into the road or bump into other walkers. Children are especially vulnerable because they are too short to be easily seen. Middletown passed such a ban and not only have they heard no complaints, but the reported incidents of sidewalk crime has gone down significantly."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

As the petition elucidates, sidewalk rage in Centerville indeed is a worrying problem which has lead to a lot of civilians being casualties to property damage, and assaults.This is now being addressed in the city council through the petition to ban the usage of cell phones will ease the situation following the lead of Middletown.

Petitions and actions implemented in one town might not exactly work the same way one would expect in another town as we are dealing with a different demographic, way of lifestyle, and the governing body. This form of social behaviour problems might infact arise because of the quality of life and atmosphere in Centerville. The argument clearly fails to elaborate and justify the irrational anger expressed by civilians except for pointing out the effect of mobile phones causing them to slow down pedestrian traffic and bump into one another.

The above argument must also leaves us wondering that there might be more than one reason how the situation diffused positively in Middletown. The petition makes a preposterous assumption that both the cities Centerville and Middletown have similar experience with crime rate and security. If infact Middletown was a safer city than Centerville is, the cell phone ban must have complemented the citizens safety in the street even more making the ban seem very effective.

The cell phone ban on sidewalks in Centerville does seem to be a very helpful suggestion to curb the increasing violence in the streets. But the petition presented above is primarily based on Middletowns success with the ban, where the assumptions and statements presented weaken their state in front of the city council and the solution clearly might not be as effective as they claim to be.