The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Present day education system and the way of our lives prefer quantity over quality. Everyone tends to be in a rush and compete for better results amongst his peers and outshine them. But when we look back to the past, great feats were never achieved as a lone man but as a group of individuals or as a team. Hence inhibiting team building and networking skills at a young age will help people grow into a better leader irrespective of the field looked upon. The aircraft Airbus A380 is an engineering marvel which is able to carry over 800+ passengers across distances which couldn't even be imagined a 100 years back. Huge feats such as these is never a single person job. When looking at the aerospace sector a group of designers, manufacturers, quality assurance team, and a media outreach team all work together, where every team report to their head and they correspond with the leader of the particular project or company. With the absence of cooperation and networking skills among colleagues amongst working individuals in various fields, humanity wouldn't have advanced in all those fields as it is today. Futhermore, leadership roles in important fields like industry, military, and especially government are vital for any countries growth and one cannot afford to make mistakes as there is a lot of things at stake. Working in a team provides multiple perspective to a same prompt, which can never be possible to know of through self introspection. This is the same reason why representatives of the people in a democracy speak about policies and matter of discussions and try to amend or reframe any bill/scheme to be implemented. Such a fool proof working cannot be achieved if there aren't anyone to cooperate with and unanimously deciding their will. All this being said, there are few specific cases where veto exists of one person to another which might not exactly play well. A person X in a particular industry might propose a solution to some problem which would have been discussed amongst his own colleagues, but criticism or suggestions from another discipline must always be taken as a suggestion and nothing more. As the person X and his team are well versed and familiar with their discipline, opinions and and suggestions from others cannot be forced upon them as their point of view might not exactly be valid. Eventhough opinions might clash and it better not be taken serious from an industrial point of view, the same does not apply to every other leadership role where cooperation and introspection among the team is the top most priority which is very much needed for leaders of the future generation.