Undergraduate students majoring in Business or in the Sciences should not be required to take any courses in the Humanities since those courses won’t benefit their future careers.

Undergraduate students have a lot of subjects to choose from, often at times, they're forced to take courses which are irrelevant to their major study. In order to get sufficient credit points to clear the semester, students do take some subjects which are not related to their major field. There are instances where a Computer science major taking courses in Electronics and communication, struggling to complete it. So I agree with the author that, undergrad students should choose only subjects which are relevant to their major field which will better than choosing some unknown course, thereby helping the student to complete the degree on time.

Firstly, I have seen a Computer science undergraduate student taking courses in Electronics and Communication, Electrical Sciences, etc. to complete the semester. These courses will require knowledge which a Computer science student lacks and therefore student will eventually struggle to complete the course. Sometimes students fail to complete the semester, due to the above reason. Which will affect their graduation. More tuition fees, exam fees, etc. So instead he should concentrate more on courses that are similar to major field.

Secondly, I have seen an English literature major taking courses in German, Spanish, etc. to complete the semester. By doing so he's only studying those for the sake of semester and not by heart. Often at times students just read what is required to pas the examination, keeping aside the necessity of the same in real-world scenarios. If the course is something which is related to major field, then more effort is put into the course for studying, which will have a positive effect after graduation.

At times choosing the courses which are related to major field will bolster students subject wise intellect, it is also good to have other courses which even though not related to major field. Like learning a local language like German, if you're studying in Germany will increase the chances of getting the job.

With all the above examples, I believe it is evident that an undergrad student should take courses that are related to major field.