Undergraduate students majoring in Business or in the Sciences should not be required to take any courses in the Humanities since those courses won’t benefit their future careers.

Write a response to the prompt in which you discuss whether or not you agree or disagree. Be certain to fully develop your position and carefully consider ways in which your position could be challenged.

The students majoring in business or science represent the leaders, scientists and people who are going to shape the world in the coming years. It is important that these students understand the difference between humans and machines is the basic component of humanities which makes its study indispensable.

First, the concept of business or the study of sciences has been formulated by humans since times immemorial for a single purpose. For the advancement and benefit of the human race. The best application of scientific advancements or business is best done if done in a humane way. For example, the corporate office structures of today employ a large number of people working together in big offices. It is not unheard of such environments, the widespread cases of stress, mental breakdowns and the autocratic nature of the management who run these places. When we look deeper into the issue these corporates are run by the same people who one day started at the bottom of the ladder largely dealing in business or science. If the study of humanities was included from the very beginning for the people, it is a push in the right direction to encourage more humane interactions all throughout their careers.

Second, the study of humanities helps people at works and in society to understand people, culture and the world around them and thereby making people more educated about other sections in society and help in ending many of society's problems such as racism, hatred, etc.

While the study of humanities is encouraged, students in the field of business or science today largely underqualified for the jobs for which the companies recruit them. This leads the companies to further spend resources to train the students to make them corporate ready. If during the academic tenure the students were more focused on topics relevant to their field, it may help to make them more industry-ready by the time they graduate.

Therefore on the whole, while a deep humanitarian study may not be required for the students of business and science. It is definitely encouraged for these students to have a set standard of humanities study included in their syllabus to ensure they graduate as competent and humane people of society.