This topic raises the controversial issue of whether to understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities. Indisputably, major city is the place where a large number of population of a society resides and thus characteristics of the society also. Nevertheless, major cities have museums and art centers where cultures are preserved to be studied. Thus, I generally agree with the opinion that to understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

First of all, Kings and queens lived in the major cities during their time. So, we can understand the culture of the people from these places as how the king ruled the place or what were the major cultural and social advancements’ decisions that were being taken. People in this place lived closed to the king and thus will be having a closeness of the characteristics it tried to build in the early times. Specifically, commerce is being conducted in the major cities more than the minor cities. How the society responded to the commerce can be found here. Both personal experience and common sense tell us that things can be obtained in a more organized manner in the major cities as it tries to preserve its history. Hence, all the evidence above demonstrates that major cities to should studied to understand a society’s culture.

Admittedly, even small cities preserve some major social characteristics that need to be studied, to understand the characteristics as a whole. Specifically, when it comes to westernization of the major cities that changes the year old characteristic of that society. In addition, there is a diversity of people coming from different societal backgrounds in the major cites which essentially lacks in the minor cities. However, the above argument does not constitute a sufficient support to weaken claim that major cities should be studied, because, as mentioned, records are more organized in a major city for study rather than a minor city where it is unknown how to actually conduct a study of the society.

In conclusion, although minor cities should be studied to understand the characteristics of a society, but the primary source of study should be a major city. As long as measurements are performed like on commerce, or areas like presence of museums, libraries, history of king, study conducted in major cities will provide the base of the understanding of a society.