This topic raises the controversial issue of whether scandals are useful or not. Indisputably, scandals do bring lights on the unseen issue and let people focus their attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could. Thus, I generally agree with the opinion that scandals are useful for focusing attention on problems.

First of all, scandals bound the leaders to step back from doing any more illegal thing. I would like to point out that the scandals make people more aware of the leader and get to know the true color. To illustrate, let us look at the example of West Bengal chief minister where she has been in power for a decade but recent scandals about her carelessness for the state has made the young generation of west Bengal to raise a voice against her. In this circumstances, obviously she has been bound to be more careful about her actions and consequences. Consequently, it is obvious that scandals are useful as they focus our attention on problems.

Furthermore, fair judgement can be made after proper investigation of a scandals. People get to understand what is right and what is wrong. Specifically, when there are a lot of scandals for a single leader, obviously, something has to be wrong with that person in power. Both common sense and personal experience have told us that in such cases either the person reforms or some judgement are being taken to reform the system. Hence, all the evidence above demonstrates that scandals are useful.

Admittedly, at such huge power levels, scandals can be false too, harming the image of a good leader. This is true especially when there is a bad political rivalry. In addition, scandals does bring attention to the problem but doesn’t really solve the problem unless the person involved is reformed. However, the above argument does not constitute a sufficient support to claim that scandals are not useful. Because, unless people are aware of a leader’s true conduct, they will never be able to make fair judgement.

In the conclusion, although scandals sometime does prove unhealthy, most of the times it is a healthy practice to keep a check on the leaders in power. In fact, scandals, as long as they are true, should be taken as a positive reformative both by the judge as well the person being judged.