To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In deve

To Understand the society, Visit the major Cities is a parochial view/opinion to understand the society. A lot of different components makes up a society, gives it the character which we see and feel. History, Geography, Architecture, Beliefs, Food are some to name which unites to make up a society. Studying major Cities is not completely wrong, usually major cities are the place where you will find the concoction of different parts of the society, So you will get a taste of everything in one place but wont be able to answer the questions how/ when/ where it all started.

In order to completely understand the Society you have to start with the history. What happened here in the past. You should visit the places which has historical significance. Major cities today have been industrialized and commercialized to support the economy of the society. People from all over come there in search of job and better life hence the concoction. For example coutries like India and China have a very deep and rich history and lot of todays culture is influenced by that history. Major cities like Delhi, Mumbai, Beijing , shanghai are old but they have been modified and lost the touch with history.

Another Aspect of learning about the society is to learn the culture which is being followed. Again with India and China you will find so much different falvors of culture as you move from east to West or North to South exactly as the saying in india goes “every mile the taste of water change and evrey 2 mile the dialect ”. Learning the source of the cultures will help you understand Why its like that.

Second Aspect is Architecture which is an important part. This tells you who and what types of people lived here. How they lived and where they came from. Taking the example of India again, you will find the impact of so many civilization on the architecture in all over india, So many emperors ruled in India and each one of them left their mark on the architecture . This you wont find major cities as everything there is made brand new to accommodate the comfort of people.

Third aspect which is the most important of all is the food. Like architecture this will also tell you who lived here. Like its said “By food you can tell lot about a person”. In this case you get to know who lived here. Like the cliché goes that Indians like Spicy food is something you will find not true at all. There are cities which do not prefer spicy food at all. By visiting these diverse cuisine you will learn about how people adapted their food as per the needs of the resources and weather available to them.

Fourth Aspect Beliefs , societies like in india and china reside citizens with various beliefs. The origin of those beliefs will also tell you something about the kind of people live there

So visitinf major cities will surely give you a small opening to see what is there to offer in the society but if one would like to understand one society he should move away from the comfort and visit places which offer more historical perspective of society. To understand the society one need to understand the people who live in it, their ways of living , eating and praying.

Like they always say “Don’t judge the book by its cover”