To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In deve

A society is a union of different people having a different caste, religion, culture as well as different lifestyle. Society evolves through some changes made by its constituent elements. The issue of learning the characteristics of a city through analyzing its major cities is a contentious one. I believe that to get a better insight into a society one must have to study its different cities, not particularly major cities.While it's logical to study large cities as there is a large population density but it's not suitable to ignore small towns, cities, villages which are also part of society.

Due to Urbanization, major cities have undergone a lot of changes throughout the decade. A lot of people live there as major cities provide an innumerous amount of facilities in comparison with other cities. In a word, major cities are the visible characteristics of a society. Normally, they are the financial, social, capital cities of a country. When we are trying to get a superficial understanding of a society, it is the city that provides us a view of fast-paced, ever-changing social, financial, political, technological or all spheres of life, which is situated in major cities. However, to gain a deeper understanding of a society or rather relatively the permanent aspects of the society one must have to learn also it's minor towns, villages. For instance, if I consider the situation of my country, Bangladesh, where Dhaka is treated as the prime city as well as the capital city. In Dhaka, 40% of people of our total population lives here. Life in a metropolitan is quite different from other areas. Dhaka, a city full of noise, traffic jams, overcrowded, so clearly it will misrepresent the social characteristics of Bangladesh where the other good characteristics are ignored.

Besides, to cope with the modern world, people living here in major cities sometimes defying their traditions, cultures. In a cosmopolitan society where different types of people, different country's people reside temporarily or permanently which will replace that particular society's lifestyle, culture, tradition. On the contrary, the minor cities, villages, small towns are comparatively less susceptible to globalization. The effect of globalization is not severe there. As a result, still, people tend to follow their traditions, disciplines, heritage which was practiced or address by their predecessors. For example, in Indromohon sweets, a most well known and ancient sweet shop situated in Khulna, where still the practise of serving foods in traditional methods is going on and this practice is going on since its inauguration in 1920.

To recapitulate, a major city never reflects all the aspects of society, while it might introduce some revolutionary changes in society. But to get a better insight into the characteristics of a society as well as its tradition, heritage one must need to study other small towns, villages.