To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Understanding the built fabric, cultural values, literary development of any settlement is how one understands the characteristics of the society. I agree with the above mentioned statement that the framework of major cities help us understand the important aspects of the society upon which it is built.

As we have observed through out history, cities are of utmost importance in the structure of any settlement. In ancient times cities were the base of any kingdom, housing the kings and queens. The kingdom grew from where they camped thus creating a city, and developement was most seen in the city itself. For instance, in India New Delhi formely known as Delhi was the kingdom for most of the Mughal emperors, the city went through immense development during their reign. The built fabric for example the iconic Mughal dome, jaalis, and Mughal gardens can be seen through out Delhi which characterizes the Mughal Architecture.

Moreover, cities are the base for all the trade work that connects the settlement. All the major commerce happens in the major cities, infact today most of the countries have a city pronounced as the “Financial Capital”. For example, New York is called the financial capital of The United States of America, all the major stock exchange happens in the Wall Street.Thus it is important to study the working of the commerce present in a major city to understand the country as a whole.

However, studying only major cities is the key to understand a society is not absolutly correct either. A lot of times smaller cities have different cultures and values and it is equally important to study these as well to get a better and cohesive understanding of a society. Specially, in terms of religious and cultural view points, smaller cities differ from major cities. Festivals are celebrated in a different way in an urban backdrop as compared to a rural setting.

Thus in conclusion I would like to state that studying cities is an important practice in order to understanding the working of any society but so is in observing the more rural setting. This will give us a broader and a more holistic view of the society.