To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

With fast-changing in cities and the increase in diversity of the culture are a factor and rather more of an indication that times are changing rapidly and so are the places. Especially in countries with a diverse set of culture, major topics have been emerging. The rapid change in the rate of development has been affecting the countries and especially the small towns of certain countries that account to the largest number of small towns. It has been said before and written by a lot of historians that the major cultural views and a broad view of a religion's traditions could be found from the small towns but the major cities.

With changing times and urbanization, small towns are getting eroded with the kind of pace like never before. The small traditions contributing to cultural diversity are no more practised in the cities. Cities have always been the major working and business centres for a country where the general public does not often believe and neither follows the traditions dating back to thousands of years.

Urbanization is a set of formalities that a country follows to have it's business and international trade run smoothly. However, it is not where people follow and practice their traditions. To check a country's traditions one must travel to its old cities and towns to see what the country is all about.

While there are countries that are developing and have developed with high pace yet as we see the countries with the highest diversity and oldest history still leave space for old small towns to protect the old civilizations and traditions.

So, eventually, in my opinion, to see a country's characteristics and their societies one should visit the old towns and not the cities.