To understand the most important characteristics of a society one must study its major cities

By definition, a society is a combination of various people of common belief, value and systems. these values can range from economic to cultural and value systems.

the prompt argues that one must study the major cities in a society to understand it's most important traits. I hold a neutral position with this prompt for the following reasons.

To Begin with, The major cities in any society is where the main things happens. if you want to know the true character of a person (or idea or anything ) shouldn't one look into its central or main activities. i will say the same for the case of a society. for instance, if one wants to study the yoruba community of western Africa, one would not do justice to it without examining major yoruba cities like Lagos, Ogun and Ondo, Likewise Washington DC, Las vegas for the American because this is where most Americans are and also where most of the governmental and economic activities of the american take place. Hence, the major cities(because this is where most of the activities happen and most population of any society is found) in any society is where one can truly understand the its behavioural traits of its people and in turn the characteristic of the society

However, Due to civilization and urbanization of most major cities of the world, if one is considering societal characteristic (such as cultural and historical details ) may have been lost. one may want to look to study its relatively minor cities where most of these historical details could have been more preserved in a more original form for example more cultural and historic details of societies such as the indians (hindus) will be more observable in its minor cities where it's women and men still dress in the native cultural indian style. Thus,

in conclusion, to understand the most important characteristic of a society one must be all inclusive in study not only its major cites but also its minor cities where cultural details may have preserved better.