Understanding the past is of little use to those in current positions of leadership.

Past should not be the reason to mourn in present, but, learning from the incidents happen and avoiding repetition of same is what needs to be valued. Therefore, i totally disagree with the statement here. Understanding the past is always more useful, and when leadership is concerned, not only yours but other's experience also matters.

To support my point of view, I would like to highlight some of the main roles in our societies, and how past experiences can help them to shine.

Lets take an example of Project Manager, who is working on some unprecedented project. However, the project activities, at the ground level, are somewhere similar to the precedent projects. The mistakes, which has been made during the execution of the past projects can be very helpful to avoid future endeavors. Making it lucid, lets take an example, costing of fencing was under budgeted in the earlier project, therefore, the management has to cut their profits and feed in the money to completed the project on time, and saving their company reputation. Same as like costing, all other aspects of past should be analyzed to avoid repetition in present. Therefore, in project management professionals, lesson learned documents are the key document of Project management plan.

Let's broaden our analysis and move to countries' leaderships. For the leader, who is currently holding a supreme place and responsible for leading the country, can be benefited by the earlier leaders' activities. He can prepare his dos and don'ts list. Which can help him and his nation in every mean. History is overloaded with those kingdoms which had been destroyed because of common mistakes. And there egotist nature were not able to learn the lesson from their past.

My last point will be related with the student, who wants to attempt GRE exams. He must go through the past experiences of other candidates to understand the dos and don'ts for this exam. Moreover, after every mock test he should get back to the answers' explanation to understand his mistakes to avoid doing same during the test.

In precisely, what had happened in the past always gives you another chance to improve the mistakes and enjoy the present by avoiding the same.