Understanding the past is of little use to those in current positions of leadership.

I do not agree that there is no use of the past for those in current positions of leadership.

Leadership quality is an important ability of humans. A leader shows the opportunity that is coming ahead. A leader also embraces the difficulties that fall on the way of his or her journey and finds a way out to overcome these difficulties. A leader also finds the hidden ability from his or her follower.

To become a great leader, the past has a great impact. Through the turmoils of the past, a leader molds himself. Analyzing the past occurrences a leader decides what to do or what not to do. A successful decision makes him or her a great leader. But a successful decision or wise decision comes through previous experiences from the past. Suppose, a leader comes across a difficult problem. He or she then maps the encountered problem with previous experiences he or she has experienced. Then analyzing every perspective, he comes up with a solution to overcome the encountered problem.

For example the father of the nation of Bangladesh, gifted Bangladesh with independence. In responding to his call for war, people jumped out for participating in the war. He has the immense capability to influence people and taking the right decision. This power of making the right decision has come with experience. Before becoming the father of the nation, he has 30 years of political past. Had he not used his political past he would not be able to take the right decision and influence people to participate in war. Every great leader has used the past to practice great leadership.

Without using the past the people who are in the current position of leadership would not be able to lead people and take the right decisions. If any leader does not use the past then there is very little chance that he will be a great leader.

Through the ups and downs of the past, a leader becomes a great leader. So I must say that there is a great use of the past for those who are in the current position of leadership.