Understanding the past is of little use to those in current positions of leadership.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

A generally agreed tenet of successful leadership is “sustainability”- which could be defined as the acts of meeting the needs of the present without compromising that of the future. However, catching a glimpse of the future is however contingent on the lessons and gains from previously taken decisions coupled with anecdotal projections. The prompt on the other hand state that the past is peripheral in achieving a sustainable or successful leadership. I strongly disagree with this prompt that emphasized the success of a leader would not be influenced by total negligent of previous circumstances for two reasons.

To begin with, the most important role of a leader is making conditions -such as economical climate, security, social welfare and many more- better than the previously attained level by subsequent leaders. For instance, the recently elected President of the United States of America (Joe Biden) presented most of his campaign on making America conducive and safe for all. One particular thing that made his campaign appealing and relatable for all was his commendable ability to capitalize on the flaws of President Trump’s administration in the areas of health (COVID-19 in particular), security and climate change. Imagine Biden campaign was based on a new set of legacies without proper correlations on how to make a difference in the malfeasances of the pasts; such approach would have been incomprehensible and unimaginative for people to understand let alone trusting him with their votes. The above example illustrates that for a leader to even catch a glimpse of the trust of those he or she serves, the measuring indicators of how to make the present better linked to past mistakes must be well communicated to his or her followers.

In furtherance, the eligibility criteria of lot of leadership positions are based on the interested candidates experience or affiliations with the concerned organizations. For example, the eligibility criteria in the appointment of a new Secretary-General of the United Nations is based on the unmatched associations of such candidate with the development of the United Nations; ranging from her establishment after the second war, past conflict resolutions strategies, unavoidable controversies, the Millennium Development Goals (MDGs), the rise of Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) -which was formed as a results of lessons learnt from the MDGs- and many more before being considered worthy of vying for such puissant position. This illustration affirms that to even get the chance of being a leader, you need to have a vast understanding which are inevitably expected (as believed by the selection committee) to guide your decision-making once appointed. So, a prompt that undermines the role of the past as an important leadership tool to shape the future is incongruous to the plebian beliefs of leaders’ selections.

Nevertheless, some bold decisions have been truncated as a result of fears generated from past experiences. Noting that no revolutionary changes would occur without a total damn of the past limitations, which are difficult to achieve if a leader holds strongly to the past. But, the best way to ensure that revolutionary changes are conciliatory is the ability to forestall future challenges that are expected to manifest as results of the iconoclastic decision that are about to be taken, which would further guide such leader plans in preventing the expected controversies. To this foregoing, the past is never of little use in leadership but an essential one.