Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

Universities are a place for one to further their education past the uniformity of high school education. It is a place for one to delve into their interests or discover it. To ensure that students find the field of study they are suited for, universities should require every student to take courses outside of the student’s field of study.

Requiring students to take courses outside their coursework can either solidify their studies, or help them actualize their true passions. Steve Jobs had went to college to study physics and philosophy. He realized he did not have those passions and dropped out of college. Instead he took classes he was interested in, like calligraphy. This class was the inspiration for the fonts he used when creating the Mac. If Steve Jobs had not taken classes outside of his field of study, he would not have found his true calling.

However, in requiring students to take classes outside of their coursework, it can serve as an economic burden. For those who are already set in their career, taking additional classes would be a waste of time. Although that is unfortunate, in doing do it would solidify their choice, thus ensuring a secure future for them. For those who are hesitant, it is the perfect opportunity to explore options, helping them find their career path so they don’t waste time. In requiring students to take courses outside of their field of study, it will be beneficial to them in the long run despite the economic hardships it may cause.

In summation, universities should require every student to take variety of courses outside the student's field of study. Despite the economic investment, it will ensure they find the career they are most suited for.