Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Although it may be true that, in a few occasions, it might be better to focus on developing deeper knowledge on only one course or skill, universities should require every student to take a variety of classes from outside their field of study. The reason for this is that the student will become a more well-rounded professional and be better prepared to deal with all sorts of issues.

The first main reason why students should know at least the basics from all fields of study is because of how dependent and inter-related all the fields are, even if the connection might not seem obvious at first. For instance, it is essential that a student who is a political science major knows math, statistics and coding; this is how he is gonna be able to strengthen his research and be able to put political theory into practice.

Another reason why universities should influence students to study different fields of endeavour is because there is a high chance that one might find new interests and talents from trying new things. A student who has always had an inclination for STEM, for example, might turn out to be an excellent artist, who did not had the opportunity to explore this talent before. That being said, a positive side of exploring different fields is to guarantee that the students are completely aware of all their abilities and talents and choose their career paths consciously and not only by convenience.

At last, another beneficial side from having a wider knowledge on different fields of study is that the student will become a self-sufficient professional, with profound critical thinking and problem solving skills. Even though at school it might seem like all the fields are well separated and never mixed up, the truth is that in real life this division does not exist; professionals need to navigate problems from completely different origins.

All in all, universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study as that is one of the best ways to make sure that the students are self-sufficient and well rounded professionals.