Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Whether students should be made to obligatorily offer courses that are tangential to their intended course of study or not is a difficult one to answer. Some would say that students should be made to take a few courses that are outside the scope of their field of studies because of advantages, such as increase in the generic knowledge of students, that would come with such engagement. However, I believe that students should not be forced to take courses that are not part of their field of study because of the following reasons.

A student who is forced to take a course not because it is part of her course, but because it is a necessity decided by the University may not be interested in comprehending the things that are being taught in the class. As such, such endeavour would be tantamount to a waste of time and resources, not only on the path of the student, but also on the part of the university, lecturers and all other people that are involved in making the teaching of such course possible. For instance, students who are interested in studying biological sciences at the university level are almost always disinterested in Physics. If such students are then forced to undertake courses in Physics, it is very likely that they won’t pay optimal attention to the course and some might end up failing such courses because of lack of interest. This would end up having negative effects on the student. This shows that it is of disadvantage to make students offer courses that are outside the scope of their field of study out of necessity.

Although some people may argue that some courses are needed in order for students to fully comprehend certain areas of their study field. Such people might give the example of Chemistry and Biology. Although it is necessary for biology students to possess a certain degree of knowledge in chemistry in order to comprehend some areas of biology like molecular biology, physiology and cell biology. However, only rudimentary knowledge that have already being taught in high schools are needed to understand such concept. Therefore, teaching such students all over again would be unwarranted.

In conclusion, although enforcing university students to offer courses that are not under the scope of their intended study may have positive effects in building all-round students, it may end up being unnecessary or uninteresting to such students thereby engendering unintended negative consequences - psychological and otherwise – on such students.