Government officials should rely on their own judgment rather than unquestioningly carry out the will of the people they serve.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

it is the government's responsibility to provide certain services to it's people. As such, the government should have in mind what policies and goals it intends to achieve while in government. However, the government can not possibly get to know the needs of the people by depending on it's own judgement alone. Therefore, there is a need for the government to listen to the plight of their followers.

As much as it is true that the government has the responsibility to do what is best for it's people, there is no standard measure to ascertain the best option at everything given time. But the populace, at every given time, knows what it needs. Moreover, what is a government that does not listen and act on the plights of it's people.

When the government pay attention to the opinions of the people, it engenders trusts and makes the pople believe that the government is truly "theirs", thereby making the implementation of government targets. acting parallel to the will of the populace might bring forth the opposite effect by inciting public unrest as witnessed in non-peaceful protests, all over the world. this can make it difficult for the government to carry out it's duties. thereby, undermining the presence of governance itself.

Another disadvantage on the path of the government for basing it's action solely on it's judgement, especially in a democratic setting, is that such decision can instigate to people to vote out the people in government as a whole and vote in people that they perceive would dance to their tunes. it can lead to a worse result in non-dramocratic settings in the form of rebellion as it is being witness in various countries in the middle East.

In a nutshell, the main aim of governance is to provide the needs of the people, and this cannot be achieved by disconnecting communication with the populace. Thefore, it is of great importance for the government to abide by the will of the people in order to ensure the smooth running of the government.