Many people visit museums when they travel to a new places. Why do you think people visit museums? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

People take actions because of diverse reasons and, sometimes, it may be difficult to rationalize the reason/s why an individual has taken a particular action. However, I think the reason why a lot of people who visit a place, for the first time, attend the museums in such places is due to the following.

To start with, people have different tastes in all facets of life. What a man wants want to see is what another man doesn’t want to catch a glimpse of. However, there are some traits that connect all humans: the desire to come in close contact with extraordinary/rare objects is one of those traits. Museums are places where one can catch a glimpse at objects of diverse artistic and historical values. Some of these objects may not be present in any other part of the world. Therefore, people who travel to new places may find it very pleasing to go to the museum to see such unique objects. My personal experience is a perfect illustration of this. Recently, I travelled to Oyo, one of the ancient towns of the old Oyo empire. I had learnt from folklores and some history courses which I took when in high school, that the town is popular with wars and powerful warriors that had fought in mysterious ways. There is a symbolically primitive bow and arrow in the town's Museum- which many people in the town believe to have been the one used by one of their greatest warriors and archers (Lapade), that starts a fire on approaching the enemies. I was particulary interested in seeing it and fortunately for me, I saw the mysterious bow and arrow and some other relics of war preserved by the museum.

Furthermore, humans are gregarious animals and most people love making new friends particularly when they are in new environments. The museum serves as a good place to meet up with new people with similar tastes; most especially fellow travelers. These likelihood of hooking up with other people while concurrently enjoying the wide array of objects in display at museums, attracts travelers to the museum. For instance, one of the first places a sister of mine who went to the United Kingdom to further her studies visited was the Museum. When I asked her why she decided to go to the museum instead of focusing strictly on what she went there for, she answer that one of the factors that could make her focus was to settle in and make friends; and, of course, she made quite a few friends on her trip to the Museum in Newcastle.

Lastly, as inquisitive beings, people may find it attractive to visit museums in order to learn more about the culture of the local population. Museums serve as fertile grounds to educate oneself about the history and culture of the people in a society while satisfying one’s curiosity. In conclusion, I stongly believe people visit museums when they are in a new environment in order to meet new people, see unique objects and also educate themselves.