If you could change one important thing about your hometown, what would you change? Use reasons and specific examples to support your answer.

I hail from a small town in Osun state, Nigeria. The town is located in the rural part of the state but the electricity and water supply is much better than what one would expect in such a rural community. The atmosphere in the town is also calmer and more salubrious compare to bigger towns in the state and this makes it a near perfect place to be. However, the one thing I would change about the town, if I had the capability to do so, is its size. The size of the town is very smaller than that of most of neighbouring towns, and commercial activities in my hometown is not as robust as I would have loved as a result.

This small size has also stripped the town of the opportunity to house important institutions and facilities, foe example, universities, polytechnics and probably a football pitch. The likelihood of such major project in the town is also infinitesimally small, and that may make it difficult for my hometown to compete with its neighbours in all ramifications. For example, a new college of education has been approved to be built in one of the bigger surrounding towns (the size of the town was one of the deciding factor) and that would undeniably increase the commercial activities in that town, and also improve its status amongst the surrounding towns.

In conclusion, if there is anything that I would love to change about my beautiful hometown, it would be its size because I believe a bigger size would make it attract more commercial activities, institutions and subsequently improve its status among other towns in the state.