We all work or will work in our jobs with many different kinds of people. In your opinion, what are some important characteristics of a co-worker (someone you work closely with)? Use reasons and specific examples to explain why these characteristics are important.

In our various occupations, we have people we work with. Depending on the number of hours we spend at our places of work, we spend varying but considerable amount of time in direct -most time, physical- contact with these people. Therefore, to be able to work effectively, and also enjoy our time at work, it is rather important for us to build cordial relationships with these people. To me, the following traits are ones that I find important in a co-worker.

To begin with, someone I work closely with should have a high sense of responsibility. I believe that there are days when things would not go as planned and the whole job would become messed up. The most important thing during those periods is for everyone involve to take responsibility for the parts they have played just liked they would have loved to do if it were a success. I once worked in a sachet-water packaging factory and the activities of each section of the factory directly affects those of all other sections. If, for instance, a loader (the person who loads the trucks) attached to a particular packer (the one who packages the sachet-water in another polythene bag in a set of twenties) due to one thing or the other, it affects the packer’s ability to package the water because the whole work space would be filled up. If a cleaner does not do his/her job effectively, the floor may be slippery and this affects both the packer, loader and the driver would end up being delayed. In any case, it is quite easy to point out an excuse, but the best thing to do is take responsibility and make amendments where possible.

In addition, I think it is of great importance for a co-worker (who is in physical contact with me), to have good hygiene. No one wants to be in contact constant contact with a person with some bad odor. This particular trait would make it easy for us to approach each other easily and also positively affect the job. I may find it difficult to work up to someone for some instructions if such a person has bad breath. These small, “negligible” things accumulate over-time and negatively affects each individual’s ability to discharge his/her duties.

In conclusion, I find it important for a co-worker to posses a high sense of responsibility and good hygiene because these traits positively affect our ability to work together and discharge our respective duties efficiently and effectively.