Do you agree or disagree that progress is always good? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Progress is an inevitable part of life. Every man and community wants to undergo some advancement as time goes by because it is seen as a positive attribute. However, I disagree with the statement that progress is always good for the following reasons.

To begin with, progress can end up leading to the creation of bigger problems. Sometimes, when progress is made in a particular field of human endeavor, it ends up creating even more challenging problems than the problem the progress as solved. For instance, the discovery of antibiotics in the nineteenth century is regarded as one of the biggest progress in the field of medicine. This discovery ended up reducing the number of deaths related to bacteria infections. Nonetheless, as time went by, the over-usage of antibiotics has lead to the evolution of many strains of antibiotics resistant bacteria. Not only have these bacteria become resistant to the effects of drugs, they have also become more virulent. In this case, the progress made by the discovery of antibiotics has lead to the development of more deadly bacteria that are can not be controlled with these antibiotics, thereby leading to a bigger problem.

In addition, some progresses have lead to the loss of lives in a large scale- something that can not be regarded as good. For instance, progress in the field on nuclear physics has lead to the development of nuclear weapons. The impact of these weapons of mass distruction has been seen in the Hiroshima bombing. Although, nuclear physics ihas lead to the building of nuclear plants that are used to power cities, the dangers that the accumulation of nuclear war heads by the powerhouses portends can not be overlooked. So, I believe advancement is not necessarily good because it might end up hurting more people.

In conclusion, I believe progress is not always good because it may end up creating more demanding problems in the further, and it may also end up leading to large scale destruction.