Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Universities should give the same amount of money to their students' sports activities as they give to their university libraries. Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

Sports are very important to the physical and mental development of individuals, as such, I hold the opinion that universities should pay attention to the enhancement of sports activities amongst their students. However, I disagree with the statement that universities should allocate the same amount of money that they set aside for their libraries to students' sport because of the following reasons.

To begin with, I believe that lesser amount of money should be allocated, by universities, for students' sports than for the university libraries because more students make use of the university library than sports facilities. Every student visits the university library, at a point of his/her education, for one service or the other. Therefore, it would be logical to spend more on the facility that benefits the larger population of students. For instance, during my days has an undergraduate, I had classmates that were not inclined to taking part in any form of sports for reasons ranging from health to personal interest. This set of individuals would not benefit from whatever amount is spent on students' sport, but they would surely benefit from monies spent on the university library because we all made use of it. So, I believe that more money should be spent on university libraries than sports because more students would gain from the amount spent on the library.

In addition, university libraries should get more finance because students mainly attend universities is to get an education; and a library is central to achieving that aim. Universities are ranked based on their educational activities rather than sports. For instance, convenant university is regarded as the best university in the Nigeria but nearly no one talks about the level of sports activities at the university. So, I am of the opinion that universities should spend more on their libraries than sports because spending on libraries would further enhance their education ratings; something spending heavily on sport wouldn't.

In conclusion, I believe universities should allocate more money for the development of their libraries, than to sports, because spending more on library would have direct positive impact on the whole population of students and it would also improve their educational status.