Some people prefer to live in a small town. Others prefer to live in a big city. Which place would you prefer to live in? Use specific reasons and details to support your answer.

Although some people may prefer to live in big towns due to factors like high social life and high commercial activities that take place in the big cities. Job opportunities and the standard of living also seem to be generally higher in these cities. Nonetheless, I prefer to live a small town due to the following reasons.

First, the atmosphere in a town tends to be more tranquil than that of a bigger city. The crime rate seem is also minimal, in a general sense, compare to that of the bigger cities. I currently live in Ota, a town close to Lagos. The socio cultural status of the people in both places is the same. That said, the crime rate in Lagos is by far higher than that of Ota. The atmosphere of Lagos is also more intense, people rushing from one place to the other, very long traffics and loud noise coming from the speakers of people advertising their products. People leave their house for their respective workplaces as early as 4am so as to beat the traffic and get to their place of work early. This “humpy-bumpy” lifestyle that pervades big cities is a major deciding factor for my preference for smaller towns. Who doesn’t want a nice and tranquil existence?

Second, as a result of the rule of demand and supply in economics, the big cities tend to suffer from high inflation rate due to higher demands. Therefore, it is cheaper to live in towns. The house rents in a big city like Kano or Lagos in Nigeria is generally much higher than that of a small town like Bida. This is the same for other basic amenities and products. Because of this, people tend to spend more, and save less, in larger cities; not only in Nigeria but all over the world. So, I believe it is better to live in a small town in other to save and plan better for the future.

In a nutshell, I prefer to live in smaller towns because it is more tranquil in these towns, and the cost of living is much lower; thereby giving the opportunity to save more.