A company has announced that it wishes to build a large factory near your community. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this new influence on your community. Do you support or oppose the factory? Explain your position.

Industrialization is very important in the development of a society. Up to the late 1990s, most economies in the world, including that of the United States, depended mainly on industries. However, industrialization comes at a cost. As much as industrialization has its pros, the cons of industrialization cannot be overlooked.

Although the establishment of a gigantic factory would help in providing employment for the local community, improving the commercial activities in my community, and would also contribute immensely to the economic situation of my community, I oppose the building of such a factory. The major reason for my stance is that such a factory would unavoidably lead to various types of pollution ranging from noise to air to water.

The air pollution as result of industrial processes in the factory may lead to the various types of respiratory diseases like Asthma and pneumonia. Noise pollution may reduce the quality of sleep that people living close to the factory would get in a day thereby reducing their effectiveness at work. Lack of quality sleep could also lead to constant stress and intermittent loss of attention amongst the residents thereby leading to higher frequency of accidents. Water pollution, another likely problem that might emanate from the factory, could lead to all sort of water borne illnesses.

In conclusion, due to the various arrays of health and mental challenges that could come up amongst the residents of my community as a result of the waste products that the factory would be producing once it starts operation, I believe the community is better off without such factories. Therefore, I am not in support of the construction of the factory.